Again….it’s the Silence

One thing I have noticed on our trip to Maine was the silence that surrounded us wherever we went. It hit me all of a sudden when I stopped in Walgreens on the way to work. On the speakers there was music blaring pretty loudly. I then tried to remember any music coming from any of the stores we visited and I remembered that there was none. Even the book store we visited in Damariscotta , ME was silent. Imagine! Shopping in silence. We would walk outside and all you heard were the seagulls and the sounds of cars and pedestrians, but no MUSIC! Now I love music, don’t get me wrong, but does there have to be music playing wherever you go? In the grocery store, in Target, in the restaurants, even before movies. What’s wrong with silence? When we walked on Popham Beach you could hear the steady rhythm of the waves beating on shore but nothing else. There were no cars, no other people.

This has hit me pretty hard since I’ve been back, to realize how much we fill up our silent spaces with other people’s tunes, thoughts, arguments, etc. Think of talk radio or the ads bombarding you on TV. What’s wrong with listening to the depths of our own thoughts? What’s wrong with discarding even these?

Taking the time to experience silence calms the mind and rejuvenates the body. Silence is the void where we can hear the many sounds that we often ignore – the voice of our intuition telling us the truth, the sound of the breeze blowing, the hum of the radiator, and the noises we make just because we are alive. (Daily OM, “Silence”)

2 thoughts on “Again….it’s the Silence

  1. Ann, silence is beautiful. I love the idea of hearing nothing but the sound of waves hitting the shore… mmm, I can’t wait for a chance to hear that one day. I don’t live near the sea but if I get a chance to visit someplace that is…

    I like your blog a lot, so far.
    God bless you 🙂

    Diana

  2. Diana,
    Thank you for your kind thoughts and I’m glad you like my blog! 🙂 Blessings to you as well.
    Ann

Comments are closed.