Why Won’t God Heal Amputees?

This page is making the rounds among atheist web sites and deserves a little Christian exposure as well. I’d like to know the answer to this question as well as, “Why Won’t God Heal the Brain Dead?” and “If God Can Transform into a Wafer in the Eucharist, Why Can’t God Work Through Woman as Priest?” The answer of course, is because the biblical, patriarchal God is a construct of the male mind and cannot be logically consistent without doing violence to reason and common sense. I suggest we dispense with all of our notions about God and live life right now in the only reality that exists…this present moment!

14 thoughts on “Why Won’t God Heal Amputees?

  1. Ann, you might want to read an article I posted back in August, “Is Healing of a Christian’s Body a Given.” I believe it will answer the question you present here. πŸ™‚

    Much love in Christ,
    Bonnie

  2. Bonnie, thanks for your comment, and forgive me for my impertinance, but you’re still missing the point of the article I mentioned (and maybe you should actually read it here: http://whywontgodhealamputees.com/god5.htm). God has NEVER healed an amputee, which means that God, as defined by Christianity, CANNOT HEAL amputees EVER. I believe the chief point of the article is that the God of Christianity CANNOT change nature, which is why God can never replace what’s gone. God created nature and nature contains “accidents” which God cannot fix, therefore the Christian God is not all-powerful. If you find an amputee that has his limb back because he prayed to God, please post it here. πŸ™‚

  3. From the page you link to, Ann,
    “If possible, get millions of people all over the planet to join the prayer circle and pray their most fervent prayers. Get millions of people praying in unison for a single miracle for this one deserving amputee. Then stand back and watch.”

    I believe that is a clear case of putting God to the test. When the Pharisees tried to test Jesus, he never gave them the sign they wanted. He could have, but he didnt, because he is God and he chooses how to run the universe, a group of self-righteous unbelievers will not dictate terms to him.

    I know prayer for medical healing does work when it is God’s will. I suffered from a terrible back pain which was not properly diagnosed for a few weeks, physiotherapy didn’t help, I could barely stand up straight and it hurt a lot to move, I did have faith in God so even though I wasn’t healed instantly it was easier to get through it. But some people would call this coincidence, I call it a birthday present- on my birthday God healed me. Perfectly, and the pain hasn’t come back since. It’s a strange testimony but I just know that for days I would move slowly, anticipating pain out of habit- and then when there was no pain I would just stop in amazement.

    Why can’t God heal amputees? He healed lepers, blind people, deaf and mute people, people with missing limbs and he even raised the dead. There is nothing God cannot do because the universe belongs to him.

    About priesthood- I usually run from this kind of discussion but since you are talking about a Biblical God, I don’t think the Bible says ANYWHERE that he turns into a wafer. And I think in Revelation somewhere all christians are referred to as priests, men and women. There is a difference between a priest and a teacher, according to the Bible. I think Jesus is very equalistic and not chauvinist at all. Paul says so many times, men and women are the same in Christ.

    Anyway sorry I didn’t get a chance to come back before, how is your health doing? You are in my prayers. Sorry about the test results. Have a good Christmas still, gift of Jesus like you said before πŸ™‚

    Diana

  4. Diana, Thanks for the comments and prayers. I’m due for a heart catheterization on Jan. 5. As far as the other comments, I still maintain that God will never heal amputees because he can’t change nature. There is no evidence that God ever has healed an amputee, either in the bible or in recorded history. This proves my point. God cannot change nature. I don’t really believe in “miracles,” as far as religion defines it. I put my faith in doctors for the “miracle” of healing that they do every day and I turn to God for spiritual comfort. As far as the Eucharist goes, the Catholic church believes that Jesus actually changes bread (the communion wafer) and wine into his own body and blood. This doctrine is called transubstantiation. They call this a Eucharistic miracle, yet they cannot imagine Jesus sanctifying and working through a female priest. But that’s Catholicism for you, and every other patriarchal religion in existence. God, for the fundamentalist Christian, is never blamed for failing to heal (hence the amputee) and is always praised for healing in other, lesser ways that I’m sure would have come about had you asked God or not. And then to pile on the heinous doctrine that people are not healed because they haven’t repented enough, prayed enough, or trusted enough…. I shudder at such faith and am glad I don’t have it. I implore you and everyone who comments to please ACTUALLY read the web site and then comment. The web site explains it much better than I can. http://whywontgodhealamputees.com/god5.htm. Anyway, thanks for the thoughts. Blessings to you. πŸ™‚

  5. I must agree with Diana, Ann; for Jesus did all the things she mentions. Additionally, the night He was arrested, Apostle Peter cut off a guard’s ear. Jesus immediately restored and completely healed the man’s ear.

    However, we are living in the last church age, a time when what appears to be miraculous healings by televangelist’s are referred to in Revelation as Satan’s work to make it appear that his synagogues are God’s, though they are not.

    As I mentioned the first time, however, healings are possible within Christ’s church body but they will not be highly visible to the world; else confusion would reign even worse than it does in these end days.

    God is infinite, therefore He can do anything and everything; it’s just not the time to do it now, for old earth’s time is about to end: Praise the Lord!

    As for reading the website you recommend, I confine my reading to solely God’s Word; for therein is the only truth that will not be heard from any denominational pulpit.

    Much love and prayers,
    Bonnie

  6. Well, Bonnie, I used to be as harsh and unbending as you are and I understand you need that safe place to retreat to because you’ve been through a rough time, but thankfully, I’ve “seen the light” and have come out of that brand of legalism. It’s very refreshing. But, I also reserve my debates for those who are willing to see all sides of an argument honestly and who read to inform themselves. This is called learning. It’s fun. Since you are unable to see all sides of an argument and are unwilling to inform yourself, please leave the comment space free for others who wish to engage in honest and open dialogue. I’ll “pray” for your spiritual pride to soften and my words to be tempered with as much grace as possible, because I’ve clearly hit a nerve. πŸ™‚ Universal blessings to you. (ps. The bible does not provide physical evidence of miracles. It’s hearsay)

  7. It is sad you are so judgmental, Ann; considering you do not know me. I’ve spent 30+ years doing both Biblical and historical intensive research; which belies your charge that I am not open to learning. My prayers are with you, for if your awakening brings you to being judgmental, then it is not a good place to be. Nevertheless, I respect your wishes and will not continue to read or comment on your postings. πŸ™‚

    Much love in Christ,
    Bonnie

  8. Bonnie, no I don’t know you, I took the information about your rough life from your web site, so if it’s not true, it shouldn’t be there. As for reading nothing but God’s word, thank you very much for the compliment, since you’re obviously reading my blog and I’m sure THAT’s not in the bible. For a fundamentalist, your restraint on my behalf is admirable and appreciated. Blessings to you. πŸ™‚

  9. Well, Ann, you leave me astounded. πŸ™‚ You must be quite young and/or very immature; for not only was your last comment asinine but also impertinent, impudent and insolent as well as finds you unaware of revealing your ignorance and lack of proper morals by bearing false witness and leveling false accusations against me.

    As a licensed psychotherapist, I suggest you need counseling for your poor attitude, low self-esteem, and you need training in proper behaviour to include lessons in being respectful as well as greatly needing guidance in moral standards. In short, you need an attitude adjustment.

    While I owe you no response , I fail to understand how my rough life has anything to do with your original charge that I do not want to learn. How is it you dare imply that, because I had a rough life, I could not have been schooled muchless have been successful? How is it you dare declare that, because of my rough life, I have put lies on my website? Fact: everything on my website, Unicorn Haven, is absolute truth; albeit, it matters not to me if you believe it.

    I have degrees in banking, accounting, interior design, Texas Real Estate, taught in a Texas college, have certificates in specialized areas of law, a published author, former publisher’s editor, 30+ years of intensive Biblical and applicable historical research resulting in 3 published works and, as mentioned, I am also a licensed psychotherapist. Do you erroneously assume, because of a former brain aneurysm compounded by MS and Lupus, I am not capable of these feats? Fortunately, I know God thus do all things natural, instead of man’s wonder drugs that poison our bodies.

    If you think none of the above is possible, then consider that I am 62 years old and never tire of learning. I simply have no desire to learn anything contradicting God’s Word. If you choose to study such things, it definitely is your prerogative; and no one has the right to prevent you. However, if you are going to post your conclusions in a public forum, then you have no right to tell anyone they cannot leave comments. especially if you are going to misleadingly tag your posts; unless you set up your blog as “subscription only.” You questioned why I had read some of your postings; because you tagged them according to things I do read: religion, Christian, etc.

    Needless to say, since reading this piece I have read nothing more of your writings, and this will be the last time I respond to your rude audacity but definitely will keep you in my prayers; for you truly need God and Christ in the worst way. You would do well for yourself if you researched the Bible as closely as you follow man’s contradictory garbage.

    Much love in Christ,
    BonnieQ

  10. I’m sorry you’ve misread my comments and that you feel you have to personally attack me to make your point. You are absolutely right. You are a superior fundamentalist in every way. I concede that you are superior in fundie morals, superior in fundie attitude, superior in fundie respect, superior in fundie spirituality, superior in fundie health, superior in fundie faith, superior in fundie education, and superior in regular age.

    Oh, and by all means, feel free to read and comment any way you like!

    May you receive Christ’s blessings as well this Christmas season! πŸ™‚

    Yours in Christ and hopelessly inferior in fundie morals, attitude, respect, health, faith, spirituality, education and regular age,
    Ann

    “Welcome those who are weak in faith, but do not argue with them about their personal opinions….So then let us pursue what makes for peace and for mutual upbuilding.” Rom 14:1,19

  11. Hi Ann,

    Thanks for explaining transubstantiation again, I heard about it first on a John Piper sermon- he does not subscribe to that belief and I agree with his reasoning about what body and blood of Christ we eat. He uses scripture to reason and explain his stand on various things so it makes it easier for me to accept his teaching, πŸ™‚ I read your posts about fundamentalism and I guess I am a fundamentalist to a large extent. I do believe in the authority of the Bible and in an all-powerful God who can heal amputees or any other people who need healing. Spiritual healing and physical healing. Anyway I don’t think I’m unhappy and if I can comment here without offending you, it must be okay to be a fundamentalist sometimes πŸ™‚

    Anyway have a great Christmas and let us know how Jan 5 goes πŸ™‚ God bless you,

    Diana

  12. Hi Diana,

    I certainly wouldn’t class you as one of the unhappy and mean fundamentalists that Michael Spencer describes in his post (see the latest post “Fundamentalist No Longer”). πŸ™‚ You are generous and loving in your disagreements and if I get testy, it’s because ultimately we cannot know each other except by what’s written on our blogs. Yet some people take it personally. There’s absolutely no reason we should get personal about our differing beliefs, but some do. It’s not “wrong” to believe in those things called “fundamentals.” What’s wrong is the attitude that all others are wrong if they disagree with what you disagree with (I mean “you” in the general sense of “all of us”). That’s just mean-spirited and prideful. I don’t believe in arguing to convince others I’m right. I just have an opinion and express it here. I’m not even trying to be “right!” I don’t believe anything is “right” in the ultimate sense. No one knows that until death.

    Others, therefore, are perfectly free to disagree with what I write, but I draw the line at insisting I see it the way they do or face their wrath. And, as Paul said in Romans 14, “do not argue with them about their personal opinions…” (“them” being other Christians). People are free to believe whatever they like and only the Spirit convicts others of truth, not wrangling over words on the internet.

    You, my friend, are not one of the fundamentalists I was referring to in my post. πŸ™‚ You have been nothing but kind in our disagreements. Thank you for that.

    I’ll let you know how it goes with the health thing! Love and blessings, Ann

  13. Ann,

    I’m really glad I stumbled across your blog and I agree that “only the Spirit convicts others of truth”. Being able to express our points of view is a blessing in itself, and I’m content to share my views, when fundamentalist and otherwise, and leave it to every reader to decide for themselves how to apply or ignore that. In the book of Jeremiah one verse goes like this: “I am sending you a day where no man will say, ‘Know the Lord’, for I will write my law on all their hearts” well something like that. And the book of Hebrews says “encourage one another and keep on building each other up, more and more even as the Day comes closer” (similar to Ephesians 4.29) and also “the word of God is a two edged sword, able to judge the thoughts of the heart; and before God everything in creation is laid bare”. My entire approach to blogging is based on these verses and other verses like them- to write what would “build up” my readers, and I don’t see any point in divisive quarelling as you point out from Romans 14. I’m imperfect and therefore sometimes I do get carried away and fail in my goals, and in these times I depend on Jesus to show me how to repent and make amends if I can.

    There have been times when I wrote comments here and was afraid that I’d been offensive, but praise God you don’t hold it against me and you call me friend. My heart is happy to read your kind words, and love and blessings to you too.

    Diana πŸ™‚

  14. I appreciate the encouragement, especially when it gets vicious out there in cyberspace!

    Ann πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.