5 Things You Don’t Know About Me

I’ve been tagged by Diana, so here goes:

1. I looooovvvveeeee cats. If I see a kitty on the road or abandoned somewhere, I HAVE to bring it home. I cannot leave it to starve. Cats are the best animal in my opinion. Not slavishly loyal like dogs, but independent and they clean themselves!

2. I love teenage slasher horror movies. Some people get grossed out or don’t like to be scared, but the grosser the better. I’m not sure what that says about my mental state. Probably something to do with my violent childhood. Live through that and nothing scares you, except, curiously, medical procedures. πŸ™‚

3. When I was little, I wanted to be a dancer, like the kind you see in Broadway shows. Or, I wanted to compete professionally. I was a disco-head in the seventies and to this day, if it has a beat and you can dance to it, I’m there! This is why Dancing With the Stars is the best show EVER!

4. I am terrified of public speaking. This is why blogging is the perfect venue for me. When I had to give speeches or read my papers at college, I was petrified. I was in a Medieval Drama class and had one long monologue in a Medieval Morality play. I had nightmares for weeks. Try memorizing your lines in middle english and you’ll know what I mean. I only forgot one line, so it went ok, but I’ll NEVER do that again. Dancing would be far easier, cause you can get lost in the music and the movement.

5. I want to write a book someday. Something non-fiction.

I hope this is interesting to someone somehwere. Like I said in my previous post, I’m just glad to be alive!!Β  πŸ™‚ Thanks Diana for your love and support! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “5 Things You Don’t Know About Me

  1. Hey this was interesting thanks. I love cats and I love dogs more… I have two dogs πŸ™‚ I relate to puppies more than kittens but I love both.

    I cant wait to read your book when you write it! πŸ™‚
    I’m so glad you’re back home and ok.

    God bless you Ann

    love
    Diana

  2. This isn’t really related to this post, but I read your Christianity, Feminism, Existentialism page and was wondering if you’re familiar with Paul Tillich’s panentheism. If not, I think you might find it quite interesting and applicable.

    I actually tend to think that Derrida’s statement “there is nothing outside the text” was directly leveled at the existentialists who sought unmediated experience, pointing out that there is no such thing as a pristine, authentic experience that is free from interpretive coloration, and I also tend to agree with him. But existentialism is still quite interesting, and its emphasis on seeking being for the sake of being is still instructive even if it turns out that it can’t fully be realized.

    Indeed, I think Nietzsche anticipated Derrida’s statement with his doctrine of perspectivism, which also fed directly into existentialism. So existentialism and deconstructionism aren’t totally at odds, even if deconstruction really was intended as a rebuke of existentialist fantasy. πŸ˜‰

    Just some thoughts. I enjoyed your thoughts on feminism as well, I would consider myself a feminist if I was completely convinced that a man can really be a feminist. I suppose I can, though, at least to the same extent that a white person can be in favor of civil rights for people of other ethnic backgrounds.

    As one of my professors at UE put it, “Feminism is basically this crazy idea that women and men should be considered as equals.” I think it’s a good basic definition.

  3. Good thoughts Jason. You know, others have recommended Tillich as well, which means I probably should read him. πŸ™‚

    I believe that, since experience is all we have to base concrete decisions on and to form our best estimates of ideas and concepts upon, it’s somewhat fallacious to posit an “interpretive coloration” as a barrier. This sounds like philosopher speak. In reality, it’s only when we try to express ourselves outward toward others that the interpretation comes into play, because WE are the filter of experience. We experience what we experience without interference because that is how we are made. If it were not so, you might as well be Alice in Wonderland where nothing is as it seems and you could never make decisions at all.

    Therefore, why say there is a barrier of any kind? The problem comes when we try to say that our experience should match another’s. There is no script that we all play out from some preformed idea somewhere, hence Sartre’s “existence preceeds essence” idea. We experience life as we live it and must make the best choices from that. Hence, political theories and ideologies are just that: theories.

    Feminism is as well, but it works for the marginalized. It is indeed possible to be a male feminist. Go to this man’s blog for an excellent example: http://hugoschwyzer.net/

    But fun stuff to talk about nonetheless. Thanks Jason! πŸ™‚

  4. Hey thank Diana,
    I was fascinated by your baby mouse story. I would have done the same thing, poor thing. 😦

    I can also relate to #2 where you say you get along with people of different ages. I, too, find that to be true. Not with kids necessarily, but with older people.

    It’s good to be back,
    God’s blessings!

Comments are closed.