Daily Affirmations For Those Leaving Christianity or Church?

I think it would be a good idea to write a book that would encourage those who are leaving Christianity or the Church. Goodness knows we need such encouragement. There are affirmations galore for Christians, oozing out of book stores all over the world, but there is nothing for those of us stuck in the middle of the process of leaving. At least none that I know about. I wonder why that is? For some of us it is the most important transition of our lives next to becoming a Christian, marriage, etc. Those who are already at the end of the coming out process are like midwives urging us out of the birth canal. However, some of us are breech babies; we just cannot make it out in the position we’re currently in. Some of us want to turn around and go back in! Some of us are born immediately, no labor pains, instant daylight! Wow, that was easy, they say, it must therefore be easy for everyone. Not so!

If I were to write this book, I would focus on the hard thought processes of leaving church and even our faith. These daily affirmations would deal with a whole range of issues such as dealing with church members, feeling guilty for not going to church on Sunday, giving up magical thinking about the bible, prayer, bible study, etc., taking care of ourselves, nurturing our inner instincts, listening to our own conscience, growing out of the fear of sin and hell, and things like that. The most important issue for me is leaving, going back, leaving, and going back. It’s that endless tide of emotions associated with religion.Β  Since most if not all Christian devotionals are about denying self, this affirmation book could focus on listening to that still small voice we are born with and learning to trust ourselves again. It would be in a “devotional” format with quotes by free thinkers and such or with affirmations at the beginning of each day and practical advice on how to put the thought process into action. I could call it Affirmations For Wounded Souls or A Daily Guide to Coming Out of the Church.

Maybe someone has already thought of this kind of book. You may know of one already published out there that I can’t seem to find. If so, I’d like to see it. Drop me a line and let me know. πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Daily Affirmations For Those Leaving Christianity or Church?

  1. This is a wonderful idea πŸ™‚ I left Christianity going on 6 years ago now and it has not been easy for so many reasons. It wasn’t until I was far enough removed from the whole culture that I began to see how insideous it’s tenacles reached into my life. If I were to write an affirmation, it would be something like:

    I am always loved, always safe, and always inseperatable from the Intelligent Love engery that created All.

  2. I remember when my parents decided we were no longer going to church. Part of the problem was my dad got heavily involved in science and the preacher didn’t answer the question the way my dad wanted it answered…So as a result, we never really went to church. We visited a church here and there when someone invited us or a funeral or wedding. So I remember what it was like waking up Sunday morning with really nothing on my mind other than mowing grass, avoid going bird watching with my parents, doing laundry, and working on homework…and hope I got it all done in time for the Sunday evening movie on TV. Although my experience perhaps is unique, one thing that was not unique was I had no real direction or purpose. I remember before I became a Christian I hated Sundays because I was bored. I felt church intereferred with…but couldn’t find something to fill the blank only because I didn’t know what I was missing. When I first came to know Jesus in my life…to really have a personal relationship with Him and not just finding a church to appease guilt or something…I wanted to know more about Him. I have been a Christian for over 10 years (I’m 28). True, there have been ups and downs and there have been times I did desire to “skip” church because of other things but always that had been in times of self-indulgence or selfish desire rather than something legitimate.
    Think about it this way. God has an important mission. That mission is to reach the lost (read John 3 regarding men and darkness). How wonderful is it that God wants us to be involved with that plan. Through that, God gives us the dignity that man once had back in the Garden of Eden. Satan had us cheaply sell-out for something less.
    I am not saying that people may not have legitimate reasons for leaving a particular church or denomination. It must also be said that a church and church attendance doesn’t guarantee anyone to heaven. But some people may desire not to be in the presence of a church because of what it represents–God’s eyes. God sees us whether we attend church or not. Although it grieves God’s heart when we sin it also angers God towards us. Men love darkness and if not attending church helps relieve the guilt, then that is definitely a wrong motive for leaving. It’s like taking the batteries out of a smoke deterctor. Sooner or later, there’ll be a fire and the alarm won’t be there to save you.

  3. Grace,
    I love that affirmation! We are never told how much we are loved by God in Christianity, UNLESS it’s associated with Jesus’ death. It’s so bizarre to insist that God could only love me if someone else had to die. Thanks for the thoughts. πŸ™‚

  4. thelamp,
    I’m really glad all that church and relationship stuff works for you. After being a Christian for over 23 years, church and perhaps Christianity itself seem to no longer “work” for me. Before you give advice, however, maybe you should read the rest of my blog to better understand the process I’ve actually already been through instead of where you think I’m coming from. Thanks for the thoughts.

  5. I’m hesitating about your phrase “it seemed to no longer ‘work’ for me.” To be quite frank, there are lots of days when it doesn’t work for me as I would like it to, but perhaps it is about more than pragmatics. Thoughts . . .

  6. j4jesus,

    It is a whole lot more than just pragmatics, yes. I’m no longer willing to perpetuate the spectacle the church has become and frankly, no one needs the church to believe anyway. It’s a man-made structure built and designed to perpetuate itself and that feeds off of our energies and resources while offering the world nothing in return. If one is a Christian one only needs their savior and nothing more. And no, one does not NEED to be with other Christians all the time. Those who do are merely afraid their beliefs won’t stand up under scrutiny. One needs to be in the world to change it no matter what one believes.

    Thanks for the comments.

  7. I think it would be a good idea to write a book about that. Their are a lot christians who do not go to church all time time like me. I think another reason for not attending church is also because of all the politics that are involved within the church that people dont like to get involved in.

  8. Have some thoughts on this . . . but no time to respond right now. Will try to later. I am someone who absolutely loves the church and desires to see it renewed and diong its thing for Jesus.

  9. Christian,
    The politics are a huge part of not going to church. I’m contemplating the book. This blog may go the way of many and shut down for a while to accomplish it. Thanks for your valuable input on the idea. πŸ™‚

  10. For us it is a simple question: Where do we go?

    Having had church as a focal point, an anchor, when you cut the rope, the feeling of being adrift can be overwhelming.

  11. SurfaceEarth,
    Yes, it an be lonely and overwhelming. Just this morning I felt it when I skipped church. But I went outside, sat in a chair, and listened to the birds. My family was talking in the kitchen and laughing. It was enough. Blessings!

Comments are closed.