Christian Hate, Part III

This is almost too easy. Here is another shining example of Christian “love” in the comment section of agnosticatheism’s site, supposedly by a “brother” who feels called to preach the gospel:

mysteryofinquity;

I do not claim to be a bible scholar, I am simply a man in love with Jesus Christ and his gospel and will follow him for the rest of my days because I am not ashamed of the gospel…Number 1# I have nothing to prove to you or anyone, God called me to preach his word and that’s what I will do… If that offends you, well, (S.A.Y.L) SORRY ABOUT YOUR LUCK…

There is no need to prove God is real because the proof is right before your very eye’s each and everyday…You are living and breathing today, are you not? Your breathing the air that God created, your drinking the water that God created, your walking upon the earth that God created, and when you gaze up at the sky at night, you will see the moon and the stars that God created…

Yeah, God is real! And you had better believe that the devil is real also, because he is waiting on people like you to come to his place in hell so he can torment you forever and ever….You do not have to except anything I say, you can deny what I say, but you cannot deny the truth (the word of God)…

HAVE A BLESSED DAY;
TRUTHBEAR

And Christians wonder why no one takes them seriously or why good people leave the church!

I’d better get my asbestos suit on for as many times as I’ve been consigned to hell by “lovers” of “God’s Word.” It’s sad, really, the hate that comes out of these people. I used to be bothered by them, but now I feel sorry for them more than anything. When does spreading this kind of Gospel message become sin itself?

18 thoughts on “Christian Hate, Part III

  1. Mystery,
    You do know that the concept of an eternal hell was not even in the original writings of the Bible scriptures themselves right?

    Many newer bibles are being published and the word hell is not even in it.

    Seems as if God allowed bogus doctrine to be induced into the Holy Scriptures by the new church hundereds of years ago to scare the hell out of people. I guess it is still working.

  2. Nooga,

    Yes, I’ve read that. (Over at tentmaker.org) As usual, the nuances of words such as Gehenna and Sheol escape the bible devotee. I also read that the Roman Catholic Church has now changed its stance on limbo. Talk about a dogma that’s not in the bible or anywhere else but someone’s fertile imagination.

  3. I grew up fundamentalist. In fact so fundamentalist that it was our view that the King James Version of the Bible was the only divinely inspired and preserved words of God, and that these other Bible translations were the work of Satan.

    You can imagine that this branch of Christianity will not even consider the proposition that the very bible which they hold so dear, may be wrong about hell, and that it may have been changed to present this view on purpose, and was never from the God whom they think wrote this. It would fly right in the face of the “preservation doctrine” that they hold so strongly to. It would begin to break down some of the foundations of that wall they have built around themselves. They simply are not going to go there.

  4. Nooga,

    You’re right when you say “They simply are not going to go there.” That would be too reflective, too scary, and too open minded. Why is “hell” clung to so tenaciously by some people?

    I can’t imagine growing up fundamentalist. Converting and being fundamentalist was bad enough. 🙂

  5. yall are right about hell…i have studied (and believe the Bible) and there is no clear concept of hell as we conceive it. there are allusions. there are uses of hades or sheol or gehenna, but they dont necessarily mean our concept of hell in america today.

    however, the book of revelation is the source i suppose for that view. because the last few chapters speak of a burning lake of fire who flames never go out. the problem is that revelation in general is very metaphoric, and this doesnt mean that hell is a lake of fire. in fact, ironically, Jesus called it a place of darkness, so which is it? flames or darkness? or maybe neither?

    but either way, i am not trying to say anyone is going to hell. i do believe in a hell. but i am not sure who goes there or what it is like.

    peter

  6. pb & j,

    Well, at least you’re willing to reserve judgment. I think Christianity would be far better off if it would leave the judgment to God and not practice it so much against other believers. That’s all I’m asking really.

    I think “hell” or Gehenna or Sheol means many things. The Hebrews thought it was kind of like a place of darkness, but there was no torment. Gehenna is a trash heap outside of Jerusalem I believe. Anyway, the guys at http://www.tentmaker.org/books/TheBibleHell.html have got some good stuff on it.

  7. i hear ya…i try to let God judge, because i know i would do a horrible job. also, me trying to judge anyone is taking the place of God, which is the sin of pride.

    by the way, i think its interesting, because like Yeshua said to one man, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.” i think you have a better handle (in some ways) than most “christians” about what it means to follow Yeshua and read the Bible.

    may you keep seeking truth.
    peter

  8. Thanks Peter, I appreciate that. So many assume that I write these things without having wrestled mightily with God and the Bible myself! I’ve spent so long wrestling that I feel I’m entitled to say my peace (piece?). 🙂

    I intend to seek until I find and enjoy the journey along the way. 🙂

  9. Hi there,
    In answer to your question of when does this become sin. I’d say as soon as it leaves the brain and enters the atmosphere.
    That was a pretty odd letter you quoted.
    Growing up a pagan I got the impression often from “churchy” folks that Christians were people who frowned alot and told you to “go away so you don’t get my house dirty”.
    I was suprised to read stories about what Jeus was really like in the scriptures.
    The challenge is not to just love Jesus proclaiming it like a spoiled little kid with a rich Dad to the neighborhood but to try to live like Jesus making him our pattern because He loved us and is worth saying Thank you to and then taking a walk with on a daily basis.
    As someone who has please accept my apology for that offensive post. It is another proof we are on earth not in heaven where we say and do selfish, unattrative things, even on the web. I would caution you and others not to confuse those of us who say we are Christians with Christ. There is a difference. We at our best are not nearly as wonderful as Jesus. A Christian is one who puts his or her trust and faith in Christ not in Christians.
    After I became a Chrisitian because I found out what Jesus had done. I found out that I loved him but I did not always love Christians. I did not even like lots of the Christians around me. It takes effort to like my fellow man especially when they are immature and situation demands me to be an example of what I want them to behave like towards me.

  10. sloggy,
    I try to separate Christians from Christ, but it doesn’t work very well when we are often preached at Sunday after Sunday about how the Holy Spirit is living within each of us. I honestly don’t see any examples of this. Until I do, I’m steering clear. Thanks for the post.

  11. When the recent shootings at Virginia Tech too place one of my thoughts was that it would be so awfully hard to be the family of the shooter. I often have that thought when I hear of a heinous crime. That is somebody’s son or daughter, somebody’s brother or sister or mom or dad or cousin or uncle or aunt.
    Likewise with obnoxious people within the family of Christ,the body of Christ, the Church. There are some. And yes it is too bad and yes it is an embarrassment.
    As far as the Holy Spirit living within us. Yes that provides us with more options to be better than we would have been. But God speaks with a small,still voice not a roar. He doesn’t come inside of a Christian and then control them like a puppet. So Christians still are often immature in one way or another.

  12. sloggy,
    still, one might as well be an unbeliever if the percentage of nice christians to hateful christians doesn’t rise above the general populace. What would be the point of being a christian then if it doesn’t play itself out in the public arena. Atheists have a good argument when they say that having billions of christians, muslims, hindus, buddhists, etc. in the world doesn’t make the world any better of a place. You might as well be an unbeliever.

  13. I think Christians who are judgmental are just very insecure about their own salvation. I have been through many denominations throughout my life. And I have never been the type to wear a mask. I found it very hard to be real and honest about who I am without being judged. I came to the conclusion that because many people base their spirituality on what others think of them, especially their pastor and so out of fear they learn to live a lie, lest they too be judged.

    I read a very good analysis of the story of the Garden of Eden. Evil existed, but man was not aware of it and so was perfectly happy. It was when he ate from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil that he could not longer keep his eyes solely on God. He then had to behold evil and therefore had to be constantly judging. Evil is scary, it is the destructive force in the universe. Most try to avoid it even if for just self-preservation. Many Christians do not want to acknowledge that God controls the interplay of good and evil. There are plenty of biblical references to know that what God wants, God gets – just ask Ahab or Pharoah, or Jonah for that matter! It’s easier to blame the devil. But who created him? They construct this big long tale about how the earth is a proving ground and God and Satan are fighting for control. God is God. God is omnipotent. God is bringing his entire creation to reconciliation. Why all of this? I don’t know, but why any of it? My guess is that creation is a process. Maybe this is just one plane of existence. I dunno. But, one thing is for sure – we will all find out one day.

  14. Robin,

    You wrote,”I have been through many denominations throughout my life. And I have never been the type to wear a mask. I found it very hard to be real and honest about who I am without being judged.”

    I too have been through many denominations and have never worn a mask. I’ve tried to be myself and to be transparent about my struggles. Until the end, that is. In church after church, I was forced to wear a mask because of judgment from other Christians. If you are honest with them, they hold that against you. If you “confess to sin” they hold that against you. If you challenge a pastor, you are branded as a troublemaker. If you forgive a person in the church that everyone is convinced is wrong, you are branded a sin sympathizer. It goes on and on.

    Preachers love to say that God always forgives, yet they leave out the part that Christians never forgive. They will smile to your face and spout biblical platitudes, but inwardly they despise you. When preachers try to draw people to their churches, they fail to tell you that you have to put on the perfect face to stay there. Christians love to say, “Yes, there are hypocrites in the church, come join us!” But you know what? I don’t plan to become a hypocrite myself just to keep going there and blend in. I’d rather be myself completely outside the church than be a hypocrite in it. This is why church should be avoided at all costs. If you have to deal with God, deal with God directly. At least you don’t have to pretend to be something your not.

  15. Hi there,
    I’m sorry to hear that people have hurt you. I have been hurt by people too so I can understand that.
    About Christians making a difference in this world.
    They do make quite a bit of difference there are a lot of merciful projects which have been started by Christians and even in business there is a lot of positive influence there.
    Still the fundamental reason is that Christ Jesus makes a difference.
    People are fallible weak creatures.
    Today at our church service. A young couple who have been asking us to pray for their baby which was flown to a hospital out of the area shared that they are happy that their baby is doing well and is now out of the hospital but a doctor has accused them of child abuse so their children have been taken away from them. They are asking those of us who have known them to write letters to vouch for their character. I have known the mother since she and my oldest were about eight years old. We met in the library. We homeschooled our kids and so did they. They were in 4-H together and they got married at about the same time. Basically the girls grew up together and we prayed for this gal as she was in labor and during the pregnancy. This is an awful situation. But the friendship we have is sweet. Which we have partly because I am a Christian. I was never a caring person the way I am now. I would not have cared before I was a Christian like I do now. I would not have done as I did today and gone to the back of the sanctuary to hold this young gal in my arms and cry with her and offer to write a letter for her. God has changed me.
    Being a part of the church is an opportunity to connect with God and with others who love Him. I value the opportunity to not only get what I need and want at times but also to share what He has given to me with those who need it today,or this week. It is not perfect but it is a springboard that can help us to work together towards that goal.

  16. Amen, sister! Have you read any of Ray Prinzing? I highly recommend Whispers of the Mysteries. It’s available online – He is a favorite of Tentmakers.

  17. Sloggy,

    I’ve found that I connect more genuinely with people here on the Internet than I ever have at church. Strange but true. I’m done with church rules and all that. Many of us have proven that one doesn’t have to go to church to believe anything or connect with other people. But I understand your need to do so.

Comments are closed.