Fundie Men Can’t Seem to Give it a Rest

My friends, you are going to love this one. Responding to my post about Mark Driscoll, Michael wanted me to answer a “few” points that he thought worthy of discussion. I started to answer them thoughtfully and respectfully (why do I never learn?), until I get to this point:

6. (this question might come across as biting, and I don’t want it to, I am honestly curious and I would love it if you answered honestly) How much of your interpretation is simply your preference due to your life experience? I came across your website not through the front page, but as a deeper link through Google, but after a quick glance through a couple of posts, I noticed much of your differences with the bible revolve around its patriarchal tradition. Have you been spurned by a significant man in you life?

PUH-LEASE!

Don’t let the “tone” of his comments fool you. There is derision behind that remark. This is such an old, worn-out, put to bed argument about women coming from fundie men that frankly I’m sick of hearing it. And these men wonder why feminists like me are angry. In one stroke he devalues a woman’s thought, her arguments, and her reason and blames all of her life experiences and years of education on “being spurned by a man” as if that is the defining moment of her life. And he could tell this from a cursory glance at my posts, he says.

I almost, almost came close to returning to church this weekend, that is until Micahel very graciously reminded me why it was that I stopped going. Thank you Micahel for “saving” me from that church hell again.

14 thoughts on “Fundie Men Can’t Seem to Give it a Rest

  1. Even if you were ‘spurned’ in your life, how would that in any detract from your arguments against a fundemantalist viewpoint of women? It doesn’t. But what the question *does* do is take the focus off valid points and throw the spotlight on you, which then means the patriarchal focus is evaded.

  2. Trying to take a disagreement and make it personal is a particularly low rhetorical tactic.

    Interesting blog you have. I’ll keep reading. πŸ˜‰

  3. Heather,
    Yes, it’s a typical reaction to intelligent women. It’s a pre-emptive strike for their invalid arguments. There must, after all, be SOME thing that turned me to the dark side. Ah yes, it was a man. Yes, that’s it. It’s all about men. Sheesh!

  4. Yes, I was referring to his response not yours!

    You don’t think women should be allowed to think for themselves do you? :-O

  5. Thank you for asking him to re-evaluate his own experiences… I doubt he will, but we can hope that he will recognize the flaw in his arguement.

  6. Snoop,
    I’m hoping so, but it’s so hard to penetrate (pardon the pun) the brains of men locked inside the prison of fundamentalism. Women, too, but men take it so personally. Maybe it’s because they have all the power when they are fundamentalists and it’s a big head trip (again pardon the puns). πŸ™‚

  7. I think being the one who wears the pants in the marriage is a great idea! The problem is, i’ve never been able to make it work for me. i’ve been thinking of asking an evangelical aquaintance to explain it to my wife so she will understand the concept, but I don’t think it’s working very good him either!

  8. I agree with Heather in comment #3: Even if you were “spurned by a man,” does that mean your position is any less valid, or deserving of consideration?

  9. The Watcher,

    Excellent point. Besides, everyone assumes that feminists have been hurt in some way, which is why they’re feminists. How about we realize the damage that bad thought and bad systems wreak upon society and we just decide to speak up about it and align ourselves with justice? Who says that no one sees the wrong in something until they’ve been victimized by it? And even so, that doesn’t nullify our opinions in the least. I’m not gay, but I see the injustice perpetrated against them and decide to speak about it.

Comments are closed.