I’ve Been Saved! er….I Mean Tagged!

Cragar has tagged me. This might be the equivalent of a chain letter, but I’ll give you my eight things:

Here are the rules:

* We have to post these rules before we give you the facts.

* Players start with eight random facts/habits about themselves.

* People who are tagged need to write their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.

* At the end of your blog post, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.

* Don’t forget to leave them each a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

 1. I love computer games, the Myst series being chief. I also love to play video games on the Nintendo (we have original, 64, and Gamecube). My favorite Nintendo games are Turok, The Legend of Zelda (Windwaker), and Donkey Kong. The kids, hubby, and I would play for hours!

2.  I have kept a journal for 36 years. Some I’ve burned to protect the innocent (me!) and a lot I still have in my closet. I love to buy diaries, planners, journals, and notebooks.

3. I love cats more than people!

4. I never went to a dentist until I was 24. Never had my ears pierced until I was 25. Never broken a bone.

5. I first went to college when I was 36 and got a Master’s Degree in English (Lit.) when I turned 43. In college I took medieval drama classes and in one I played Titivillus, the Devil in the medieval morality play Mankynd. It was the first time I ever acted on stage. Right before opening night I strained a back muscle and was hopped up on anti-inflammatory meds. I had to memorize numerous lines of text in Middle English. I also played a soldier in The York Crucifixion, and here’s a stretch, a martyred virgin in another drama. It was sort of fun, but I’ll never do that again! I have horrendous stage fright, which is why I did not become a teacher.

6. I was fired from my first job at the age of 18. I worked for an eye doctor.

7. I barely graduated high school because my friends and I would stay out all night going to discos and partying. I loved to dance in discos. My dance partner and I came in second at a dance contest at the State Fair.

8. My favorite movie is Rear Window. All of life is summed up in that movie. My favorite book is Stephen King’s The Stand. All of life is summed up in that book.

I don’t think I have eight internet friends that haven’t already been tagged, so whoever reads this, consider yourself tagged and leave a comment to direct us to your eight things! How’s that for putting the burden on others instead of myself?! 🙂

19 thoughts on “I’ve Been Saved! er….I Mean Tagged!

  1. I didn’t want to be the new guy and not pass it on 🙂

    My kids have the new Nintendo Wii and it is absolutely fun to play. It will be nice once they get a few more games for it though.

    The Stand is also one of my favorite books. It the first Stephen King novels I ever read back when I was in college, and since he has always remained one of my favorite authors (although he does have a couple of misses here and there).

  2. Hi Cragar,

    I didn’t want to be the “new guy” either, so I’m making them work for the tag. 🙂

    Yes, I love King. I used one of his books in my Master’s thesis and I agree, he has had some boners. I didn’t like The Regulators or Desperation much. I didn’t quite get the “connection.” Which ones didn’t you like?

    I’ve seen the Wii and am unsure I’d like it. But who knows? It’s Nintendo after all. 🙂

  3. I liked Desperation but never could finish the Regulators. Some of his late 80’s early 90’s stuff I didn’t like as much. Needful Things, The Dark Half.

    On the Dark Tower Series, I think Wizard and Glass is one of his best works, if not the best, yet the last two books-Song of Susannah and The Dark Tower-both dragged on, and I read them mostly just to finish the series.

    I also think Bag of Bones is a great book and should be made into a movie.

  4. Cragar,

    I too liked those! You’re right, Desperation was better than the Regulators. I also liked Bag of Bones, and thought finally, King is back in form, but then I read Cell and well, not so much. I loved Wizard and Glass, but finished out the series just to see where the damn thing was going. What did you think of the ending? 🙂

    I don’t think anyone can do justice to a King book in a movie. The only successful ones in my opinion were Misery and Dolores Claibourne probably because Kathy Bates can do them so well.

    I liked his early stuff the best however: The Dead Zone, ‘Salem’s Lot, Cujo (book, not movie!), etc. Although It and The Tommyknockers were well written, just kinda bizarre!

  5. His earlier books are all very good. The Dead Zone is very underrated and I just reread that one a couple of months ago. I think later he got caught in the what else can I write about trap. Another newer one I did like a lot though was Hearts in Atlantis (the movie was eh, but I loved the book, maybe because I did play a lot of hearts in college). I haven’t even read The Cell. I have been getting into more of the suspense novels from Harlan Coben, Nelson Demille and David Baldacci.

    On the end of The Dark Tower, I didn’t mind the actual end so much as the longwindedness of the last two books. They could have easily been made into one. I have read the first four Dark Tower books at least two times each–I think I have read Wizard and Glass three times plus listened to it on a long drive on audio. Yet the last two books I read when they came out and since then they have been sitting on my bookshelf collecting dust.

  6. Cragar,
    OOOO I LOVE Nelson DeMille! I “discovered” him accidentally with The Lion’s Game and I love John Corey so much I had to read all the others as well as his non-Corey novels. I’ve read Up Country, The Gold Coast, Spencerville, The General’s Daughter, Word of Honor, and Nightfall all within the last year. My husband’s reading Wildfire and I will soon get to that after I finish King’s Lisey’s Story, which I just bought last weekend. I’ve got David Baldacci at home but haven’t read his yet (I collect books for the future 🙂 ) and I haven’t read Coben. Is he as good as DeMille? A book is good when you can’t stop reading and don’t want it to end. Very few novelists can pull that off.

    I am particularly fond of the Insomnia and the second Dark Tower book; Drawing of the Three, which I thought was brilliant. Yes, the last two just kept going on and on. Sometimes I think King likes to hear himself talk on paper. 🙂

    A similar book to The Stand and just as good, in my opinion is Swan Song by Robert McCammon. I don’t like all of his books, but this one is apocalyptic like the Stand but with a unique story. It’s long! But I loved it.

  7. Ah, one of my favorite books is “Silk” but I want to tell you 25 more of my favorites and I will hold back. I love drawing, painting, writing and cooking to music. I even write my legal briefs better to music. There is nothing I love more than the happiness and laughter and voices and the sounds of the feet running of children.

  8. I had read the Lions Game before 911, and the day after 911 I read it again. It’s amazing DeMille’s forshadowing of the FBI’s obsession with the Towers and his insight to how terrorists could get pilot licenses. Wildfire is very good, I think I read it in two days. Corey at his best.

    I don’t know which Baldacci’s you have but they are all pretty good. One of his older one’s The Winner is one of my favorites. Hour Game is also good. Coben is more of a mystery writer. He has a series of books about a sports agent turned detective named Myron Bolitar, and then a number of stand alone books-usually about normal people that have something go wrong in their lives, a kidnapping, disappearance or tragety. The first one I read was The Innocent, and he had me hooked and I went and read all of his old ones.

    We’re turning your blog into a book review!

  9. Alessandro Baricco…here’s the back cover:

    “This startling, sensual, hypnotically compelling novel tells a story of adventure, sexual enthrallment, and a love so powerful that it unhinges a man’s life. The years is 1861. Herve Joncour is a French merchant of silkworms, who combs the known world for their gemlike eggs. Then circumstances compel him to travel farther, beyond the edge of the known to a country that is legendary for the quality of its silk and its iplacable hostility to foreigners: Japan.

    There, in the court of an enigmatic nobleman, Joncour meets a woman. They do not touch; they do not even speak. And he cannot read the note she sends him until he has returned to his own country. But in the moment he does, Joncour is possessed. /the same spell will envelop anyone who reads, Silk, a work that has the compression of a fable, the evocative detail of the greatest historical fiction, and the devastating erotic force of a dr4eam.”

    Despite the description on the back of the book, it is “clean” for anyone out there wanting to give it a go.

    It is a slim novel that hums in your hand, literally, when I first found it, it seemed to jump off the shelves, daring me not to read it.

    A parable, a journey, a trip to the worlds within the world we call Earth. It is an unique voice that resonates and continues to when grudgingly, the last page is read.

  10. SurfaceEarth,

    OOOO. It sounds intriguing. I love those kinds of books. I’ll have to look it up on Amazon. Oh, goody, now I have more books to add to my collection (hands rubbing in glee)!

  11. anytime you are looking for more suggestions, let me know, I adore books. My favorites are the slim books that jump off the shelf at you, humming with energy

  12. SurfaceEarth,
    Yes, books do hum with energy. I love “surfing” the shelves at Borders or Barnes and Noble (sadly no locally owned bookstores nearby)!

  13. Today’s selection:

    A Book of Common Prayer, Joan Didion

    A Blind Man Can See How Much I Love You, Amy Bloom

    Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston

    Light Can Be Both Wave and Particle, Ellen Gilchrist

    Gilgamesh, Herbert Mason

    Unless, Carol Shileds

    Anthem, Ayn Rand

    The Attack, Yasmina Khadra

    Buddha, A Story of Enlightment, Deepak Chopra

    Journal of Solitude, The Journals of May Sarton

  14. SE,

    Ooo, I love Hurston and Rand. I’ve read those, but the others….I have Shields on my bookshelf, waiting to be read. And I have Didion’s “Year of Magical Thinking?” or something like that. The others sound good.

    Off to the book store….tra-la-la……

  15. MOI – I’m a video agame afficianado as well… loved the orginal Nintendo – fave games were Legend of Zelda, Ultima – Quest of the Avatar. My first computer games I loved were Shivers, 7th Guest, Phantasmagoria and of course the Myst series… are there many games like that now? I like the Zuma, Luxor, Jewel quesr type games. I just saw a type of game I had never seen, the hidden object type which are interesting…

    PS – our school history is similar as well, and I also have had one later life stage experience – with much the same conclusion!

  16. Robin,

    OOOO I loved Shivers. I played it for ours. I too had 7th Guest and 11th Hour although I didn’t make it to the end of either of them. I loved Zork as well. Obsidian was also a favorite. I love the environments of all of them and don’t play them as often as I’d like now that I’m working full time. Bummer.

    Separated at birth perhaps? 🙂

Comments are closed.