Of Memes and Books

The River Lethe has tagged me! I will participate because it involves my favorite subject: books! Books, glorious books. What would we ever do without them??

1 – One book that changed your life

The Bible (one I also wish sometimes that I hadn’t read) and The Women’s Room by Marilyn French (Both opened my eyes to new levels of existence)

2 – One book that you’ve read more than once

Again, The Women’s Room. I read it in my 20s, my 30s, and I’ll tackle it again soon.

3 – One book you’d want on a desert island

Well, obviously a book about how to survive on a desert island! Doh!

4 – Two books that made you laugh

Lamb by Christopher Moore (I agree with Aletheia on this one. It made me laugh out loud!)

Any of the John Corey novels by Nelson DeMille: The Lion’s Game, Plum Island, etc. The sardonic wit of John Corey is priceless.

5 – One book that made you cry

No book has ever made me cry except for a sappy romance or two. I can’t remember what they were though. I need visuals, like films to accomplish the crying.

6 – One book that you wish had been written

Middlemarch by George Eliot

7 – One book that you wish had never been written

The Jewish and Christian Scriptures (commonly called the Bible) or the The Koran –without these two books, there would be more peace in the world. (Men always go to war over religion, power, or land. Without religion, we’d still have war, but it would be nice to downsize it.)

8 – Two books you’re currently reading

The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman

The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx

9 – One book you’ve been meaning to read

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

There. I have so many more categories that I could add, but I could go on and on. I’ll leave it at this list. I’ll tag Heather and Eileen.

2 thoughts on “Of Memes and Books

  1. Book that changed my life? Hunter S. Thompson’s FEAR AND LOATHING IN LAS VEGAS. Literally blew my mind and sent me off the tracks of normality and made me realize that non-conformity was an option–for a kid with low self-esteem and an inordinate amount of fears, it was an epiphany…

Comments are closed.