Double Standard in Politics and Religion?

Ok, I’m no fan of Republicans, but why is this considered a normal thing to do during an election season but this is considered bad politics? Why is no one shouting separation of church and state here? I thought politicking inside a church was forbidden by preachers or does that not apply to mayors? Isn’t it a pure example of telling parishioners how to vote? I think all politicking from pulpits should be outlawed or it should be allowed. Personally, I don’t want religion mixed with politics no matter who’s speaking, so I’m on the side of keeping both arenas completely separate. Somebody explain what I’m missing here, because apparently I don’t get it.

2 thoughts on “Double Standard in Politics and Religion?

  1. Here. Here. No matter which side of the political aisle you are on, both parties and many churches come quite close to violating their tax exempt status by endorsing political candidates. As of late, I have noticed that many African-American churches seem to skirt this illegal activity as much; if not more blatantly than do many white, evangelical churches. Of course, the very fact that the Church of God remains so segregated that we can still talk about black Christians and white Christians may be a bigger problem than these “near-shot” political endorsements.

  2. Good point Jason. I think black churches are given a “pass” because to question it would raise the “race card” and no one wants to do that during election season. But it’s so ridiculously easy to demonize the Christian right. Heck, even I can do it.

Comments are closed.