Serendipity Strikes Again

Can you say coincidence? This morning, I browsed over to the Daily OM place, one of my favorite restful sites and lo and behold, the meditation for today was this:

January 24, 2008
Every Step Is Forward

No Going Back

There are times when we feel that we are spinning our wheels in the mud in terms of our spiritual progress. This can be especially true following a period of major growth in which we feel as if we’ve gained a lot of ground. In fact, this is the way growth goes—periods of intense forward movement give way to periods of what seems like stagnation. In those moments when we feel discouraged, it’s helpful to remember that we don’t ever really go backward. It may be that we are at a standstill because there is a new obstacle in our paths, or a new layer to get through, but the hard work we have done cannot be undone.

Every step on the path is meaningful, and even one that seems to take us backward is a forward step in the sense that it is what we must do to move to the next level. In addition, an intense growth spurt requires that we rest for a time in order to fully integrate the new energies that have been liberated by our hard work. When we feel we are not making progress, we can encourage ourselves to take a moment to rest. We can meditate more, feed ourselves well, and get extra sleep. Before we know it, we will be spurred on to work toward the next level of our development, and this rest will make sense then as something we needed in order to continue.

Once the sun rises, it doesn’t go backward but instead follows its path in one direction. It may appear to stand still for a moment in time, or to move more slowly at some point or another, but really it is steadily moving forward on its path. We are the same way, and once we have moved through something we can never really go back. We may be resting or revisiting issues that seem old, and it’s natural to feel stuck, but in truth we are always taking the next important step forward on our path.

That, coupled with Zoe’s dear advice, and I’m good to go! Whew, I feel much better.

21 thoughts on “Serendipity Strikes Again

  1. Now, isn’t that life-giving? Good stuff and yeah, serendipity. Maybe I should start my own Om-site. 😉

  2. Hello MOI, Long time no see.

    I love this quote at the top.
    “And then, something happened. I let go. Lost in oblivion. Dark and silent and complete. I found freedom. Losing all hope was freedom.”

    I am free, thank somebody almighty I am free at last.

    Nooga

  3. Nooga, you tiger you!!! How are ya????? I’ve missed you and your common sense. Yes, you cannot beat Fight Club for some good stuff.

    Sometime you’ll have to tell us how you’re free!!!

  4. It’s a reunion! I’ll bake us a pie. 🙂 Good to see you Nooga!

    Well Moi, that is one interesting (and yes, talk about serendipity) DailyOm. You see now, that is life-giving!

    I’m blogging here @ http://mindbodynowwhat.blogspot.com/

    The comment system here won’t recognize my website url and won’t publish my comment if I include my blog address. Askimet must think I’m spam. Probably cause I used that nasty, nasty word, “body.” LOL!

  5. I will be glad too someday.
    For now however I still have to say that although I am free it is still like the borg who has escaped the collective mind but must still live among them. I have to watch my steps, if you know what I mean, or they will figure me out and try to do an intervention and bring me back. The hard way.

  6. Moi, I found that hard to read, in fact I could not finish it, because it irritated me. Out of curiosity, have you become new age out of rebellion against Fundamental Christianity? I used to be new age, and I may have rebelled by becoming a fundamentalist Orthodox. (That’s tongue in cheek, I am very progressive and liberal, yet also conservative and traditional).

  7. Artisticmisfit,

    I use to think stuff like that was new age as well. I can remember at one time not being able to even read the word “Om” or hear the sound of “Om” or heaven forbid, even speak the word “Om”…my fundamentalist teachings and belief put that fear into me. Of course, I feared the wind blowing in the trees too at times, thinking it was demons out to get me. I use to fear every pain I felt as well, because I was told because I was doing such great work for the Lord, I was being attacked by the enemy.

    I’m not new age. I don’t read new age literature, nor feel the need to investigate it either. I am fortunate now though, to no longer be triggered by language and phrases that I once believed were Satan’s words, but disguised as light. It’s taken me years to get to this point.

    I’m sorry that passage upset you. It’s likely anything I might say would upset you too, but, I understand that, because I’ve been there too. Stuff like that use to make me shake and panic and well, irritated.

    It’s taken me years to find healing for many things and to allow myself freedom to think outside the box I was once in, remember I’m talking about myself here, not you. 🙂 Before, in my Christian life, anything outside the box I was in, was deemed new age, satanic, corrupt and or evil.

  8. Zoe, its not that it upset me, forgive me my inability to write, it bored me. I realize I don’t have to read this blog and perhaps the solution is to unsubscribe so as not to upset anyone with my opinion. I am trying to take a low profile.

  9. No worry Artisticmisfit. I was just covering the bases, so to speak, as I did wonder if you had been “triggered” in some way. Just wanted to come alongside you if that was the case and share my own story and perhaps encourage you.

    Don’t unsubscribe on my account! I understand the low profile, but, don’t leave on my account.

    Thanks for the clarification about how you saw it, re: boring. I took that your mention to Moi about being new age, pointed to some concern on your part. Sorry for misunderstanding. 🙂

  10. Artistic,

    I went to bed early last night due to exhaustion and come back to find a little controversy stirring. Hmmm. What is “New Age” anyway, but a meaningless term ascribed to everyone else who doesn’t believe in fundamentalist Christianity?

    Why does believing in the innate goodness of all knowledge considered rebellion “against” something? I value all wisdom and knowledge no matter where it comes from. I read all books, watch all films, listen to all music (but the misogynist hip-hop variety) because I don’t separate my values from the culture in which I live. There is truth in every path. Light is light, no matter who writes it.

    Perhaps you should read more of my blog and discover what I’m all about. I’m a feminist, am devoted to women’s spirituality in all forms, believe in Jesus’ teaching, do not believe in an inerrant bible, am very moderate politically and liberal socially. I don’t like categories because no one every fits into one category unless they’ve severely curtailed their lives. That’s fine if you can pull it off, but it’s not for me.

  11. Zoe,

    Hey, good to see you “holding down the fort!” I tried to comment on your blog, but every time I try to login as WordPress it tells me I’m not logged in when I most certainly am logged in. Weird. I’m unable to comment on any Blogspot blogs using WordPress. Anyway, great design on your site!!!

  12. Your comment did get through and it does link back here to your WordPress site. Who knows why these little bugs happen. Yesterday, I had the same problem, the other way around. LOL!

    Let’s see how it works for me today.

  13. You know MOI, once you stop trying to answer the questions which simply can’t be answered, that is freedom.

    I am free of all that and man it feels good. The person who keeps trying to cling to faith is the one in bondage, they must continually seek ways to justify their faith. They have to keep finding reasons to keep the faith in spite of new science, new discoveries, and the real world. It is a constant balancing act and it does wear you down.

    God, it is great to be free of that. I am happier than I have been in years. I have come to realize what is really important and that is Love. So, I love my wife, more than ever and tell her so and show her so every day. I love my kids more than ever and show them so and tell them so every day. We are social creatures who need love, acceptance and social interaction. Almost all of our happiness comes from the interaction of family and friends and sometimes with people we hardly even know.

    MOI, if you are still going to read parts of the Bible, read the book of Ecclesiastes. Basically it says everything is meaningless except to Enjoy life, drink your wine with joyful heart, enjoy the spouse of your youth, dress up, look nice, enjoy your work, because this life is it and one day we will all be dead and then its over man. Not the “hope” Christians are looking for, but it has given me a better outlook on this life however. Now I know that I had better enjoy it now and make it as good as I can now, in the here and now, cause this is probably it.

    Remember, those who think they have the answers, just haven’t heard the questions.

  14. Moi, I will keep reading. I also hold my position against Om and New Age stuff. I used to practice meditation like that, and read Autobiography of a Yogi, and all this and that. I don’t have time for all that now. I am not challenging you, this is your blog, and your life. If I find that I just can’t stomach it, I will go away. I need to flee controversy.

  15. Don’t feel you have to answer Artisticmisfit, but, it seems I did read you correctly. You do take issue with the new age stuff. I thought it was just a matter of it being boring and nothing more then that. Anyway, I think I understand your position better, with this last comment of yours. 🙂

  16. Hi Artistic,

    Feel free to take or leave anything I write. I’m only really writing to chronicle my moods, thoughts, wishes, hopes, rants, and raves. I understand about steering clear of “triggers” and knowing where our boundaries are. I have a very hard time discerning mine, so I hope that nothing I say ever offends someone so much that it hurts them. I only want to make others think a little about stuff. That’s all.

    I actually don’t meditate or ascribe to anyone doctrines in the New Age movement, which encompasses such a wide variety of things I couldn’t name them all. I’m not name-it-claim-it. I despise The Secret and all that nonsense, but I also hate Christian theologies that do that as well. I’m no respecter or religions, but fully enjoy all spiritualities. Truth is truth wherever it is found.

    You are free to read, disagree, agree, or not read. I won’t be offended. 🙂

  17. Coincidence?

    I clicked, and there you were.

    Writing and sharing again.

    Wow.

    Peace to you, I have missed your posts.

    Namaste.

    SE

  18. MOI,
    So great to see you are blogging again. You can once again take your place as one of the few blogs that I regularly read and enjoy.
    Jon

Comments are closed.