New Perspectives and Cheese!

I’m back, possums, and while I haven’t completely processed my vacation yet and have only today to rest up and tomorrow go back to work, I will sum up and say that getting out of one’s country does wonders for your perspective on just about EVERYTHING! 10 hours on a plane is just one perspective to avoid in the future. Man-oh-man, I’m not sure THAT’S worth it. Perhaps next time, I’ll find somewhere closer to home! I was sans internet, TV (our remote didn’t work in our apartment), and newspapers, and you know what? The exact same news was going on as when I left. I didn’t miss a thing. In fact, it was wonderful not to soak up all that pessimism and hatred that is spewed out in commercials and on blogs on a daily basis. I do know more about the riotous, raucous, religiously contentious Hungarian history than I can ever use in my daily life, but I learned many things about myself, specifically my heritage, from this trip. It was fun, exhausting, and unique, but I am soooooo glad to be back among my English speaking fellow Americans. I will describe more later.

But, now I must share my favorite part of visiting Budapest: the FOOD! My stars, I now know where most of my tastes in cuisine come from. We stopped into a nice little lunch cafe on a side street in Pest. The picture below is a delicious mushroom soup with, of course, mushrooms, and bits of unique pasta and vegetables:

This was the most flavorful and delicious soup I’ve ever had. Next up came a plate of fried Camembert cheese and rice:

The little dish next to it is cranberry jam to dip your cheese into. OMG! Heaven. My son (who’s hands you see) had sauteed goat chease disks and some vegies. Needless to say, there were lots of cheeses and meats to choose from on every menu. Our breakfasts consisted of either French Croissants or Parma ham and Parmesan shaves on grainy rolls and dark espresso coffee or, my personal favorite, gold coffee, which is coffee poured on top of a couple tablespoons of honey. Mix and enjoy. YUMM!

Yet, I didn’t really pig out like I’ve done here in the states. Maybe it was because I was walking about 10 or more a day on this trip. Whew! Surprisingly, my back feels great even though at night I could barely get in and out of bed for all the aches and pains! Lots of Advil. Also we took in a Turkish spa and steamed the aches away. I got some awesome shots of Pest from the Buda side and vice-versa. Will share more later, but here’s one of my favorite shots of St. Stephen’s Basilica and the famous Bridge on the Pest side of the Danube, shot from the Buda side:

11 thoughts on “New Perspectives and Cheese!

  1. Hey Rob, How’s things in the music world? While there, we missed a Morcheeba concert by ONE DAY! I love Morcheeba! But when we dined and sailed the Danube we sailed by an open air rock concert. Not sure who it was, but the arts over in Budapest are awesome. Although, I must say I heard American music everywhere played in markets and such, they have a great underground rock scene. Hungarians cannot do pop!

  2. From what I understand, death metal is very big in Eastern Europe.

    I like Morcheeba too, although I’m really only familiar with The Big Calm and Fragments of Freedom albums with Skye Edwards (sp?) singing on them. Too bad you didn’t get to see them. I would have liked to have heard your impressions of their new singer…

  3. I think this Morcheeba concert was going to be done with quite a few lead singers rather than just Skye. That would be interesting as well. Oh, well, maybe next time I fly 10 hours somewhere!! 🙂

  4. I’ll tell ya what. I feel like people I know online must think I’m totally crazy from moving my blog the way I have. I swear I’m not that nuts in person. I don’t move houses every few months or anything. 😀

    I left the Christian posts up at Paris Point though. I’m very proud of myself for having done that. 😉 I noticed that ‘medusa’ is gone.

  5. Actually Kay, ask Moi about how many times I’ve moved around and started and closed blogs. :mrgreen: We’re not nuts, we’re just creative. 😀

  6. Kay, Zoe,

    Yes, we all do it. I felt I was neglecting the gorgon, but may reincarnate her soon. I am a sylph of moods and whims and thoughts flitting by. Aren’t we all? Only boring people stay in one place all the time. 🙂

Comments are closed.