“Spots Where Bizarre Forces Obscure Reality”

Funny, I always thought one of those spots was in my bathroom mirror! Anyway, I digress. Check out the great photos at Wired showing the Bermuda Triangle from shore and from satellite. Love it. Taken from Miami beach, the photos of the ocean make it look like a vast, alien landscape. I’ve always been afraid of the ocean at night. My family and I took a trip to Florida one year and we couldn’t wait to get our first look at the ocean.  My kids had never seen it before, so it was a real treat to get there. We arrived at night and the kids and I ran out to the beach, which was right next to our hotel, and we just stood there and soaked up all the power that emanates from it. Somehow it looks monstrously huge and sounds incredibly loud especially at night. Eerie. One of those things that make you go, “Hmmm.”

6 thoughts on ““Spots Where Bizarre Forces Obscure Reality”

  1. I read about the mystery of the Bermuda Triangle when I was a child. I wonder if the mystery’s been solved. Or is it just another hoax? Never thought of the possibility of a hoax until now.

    Just goes to show.

    You believe everything you read when you’re a child.

  2. temaskian,

    I think, I’m not sure, that I believe everything I read now!! 😀

    Seriously, I’m not sure if it’s a hoax or what. Like a lot of those mysterious things, it could be a variety of reasons why ships go down or planes disappear there. Law of averages? J. J. Abrams lives there? Who knows?

  3. I’ve never lived more than two hours away from the beach, so when I read about your trip, I felt that I’ve been taking the ocean for granted.

    Maybe I should go one of these evenings to just sit there and look at the horizon.

    Thank you for the idea. I will go to the beach this weekend. I live within walking distance of a river, but
    the ocean is a 25-minute drive away. Not an insurmountable distance, that’s for sure.

  4. Lorena,

    Living that close to an ocean or water for that matter sounds great! Of course, we all take our particular local land formations for granted, but the sound of water is very soothing for me. I would like to visit something like that soon myself. Unfortunately I live about 1000 miles from either ocean so it’s a bit far for a day trip. 😀 Maybe Lake Erie?

  5. MOI, I think you do well to be in awe of the ocean.
    Tidal waves and storms can make matchwood of just about anything man made very fast.

    I heard the sound of the coral reef in Mauricious, and it put the fear of God into me.
    We like to preserve an illusion of control, which is why most of us don’t dwell over much on the power of the sea.
    There’s a good song about that by the late, and very fine, Sandy Denny:
    “You laugh at me on funny days,
    But mine is slight of hand.
    Don’t you know I am a joker,
    A deceiver.
    And I’m waiting for the land.”

    Reg

Comments are closed.