Twittering, Not Blogging

I find myself Twittering more than blogging lately. I can understand the appeal because it forces one to make a succinct point in 140 characters or less. Since I tend to blather on in posts, probably longer than need be, Twitter is very enticing. I’m also fascinated by the shortening of links using the likes of Tiny Url and Bit Url.Β  Circumstances in my life right now have prevented me from long, involved blog posts and Twitter helps me take up the slack where I feel involved but not overwhelmed. Anyone else feel that way?

10 thoughts on “Twittering, Not Blogging

  1. I went there for a while and tried to get others to follow me there too, but not many did. In fact I think you might have been one of the only ones. πŸ™‚ So, I came back to blogging.

    I still have a Twitter account, but no one follows me. 😦

  2. In a purely non-stalking fashion, I like to follow singers on twitter when they’re working on an album. They describe what songs they’re working on, and it’s usually the first place I can find the album release date.

    I don’t twitter just because I’m really bad at small talk, and if I’m going to say something, I’ll need a blog post.

  3. River,
    Well, if you follow them, they will usually follow you out of courtesy, unless they are too “big” to follow everybody. I follow Kyra Sedgwick because I like The Closer, but she’s not going to follow me. However, I find that a lot of singers follow back, like Imogen Heap, etc. Fascinating. But besides “the following” issue, it’s more a short burst medium which appeals to me I think, especially when I don’t have anything long and involved to say. I’d follow you. You know this. πŸ™‚

  4. OSS,
    Yes, I like to follow singers as well. I also follow my favorite writers for the same reason. I even follow John Cleese because I’m a Python fan and because I like to see what he’s up to lately. I like the way you define Twitter as “small talk” and that’s exactly what it is. Great for short bursts and directing peoples’ attentions somewhere, but lousy for conversations sometimes. And like you… longer posts allow for really “saying something!” πŸ™‚

  5. After I posted this I figured it would help if I offered a way for people to actually follow me, so I put a link on my blog sidebar. πŸ˜€

  6. I do both…I have my twitter hooked in to my facebook account.

    My blog has been quiet lately…just don’t have much to say.

Comments are closed.