Paranormal Activity

Why do people go to haunted houses that others create for Halloween? Because they know it’s fake but they want to be scared witless anyway. It’s called the suspension of disbelief to get the payoff in the end. Scaring ourselves and feeling safe at the same time is a human past time. And ghosts and demons and things that go bump in the night are just the ticket to help us get the adrenaline going. That’s what the new movie Paranormal Activity is all about. I know it’s fake, I love that it was made for $11,000, the couple who star in it are likable, and it delivers exactly what you think it will; a great scare after a suspenseful buildup. Don’t we all want to know what goes on in our houses while we sleep? What’s scarier than contemplating that? As for the movie, I haven’t heard audience reaction like that since I saw Carrie at the movie theater. Or even Jaws. Good stuff. I highly recommend it this Halloween.

4 thoughts on “Paranormal Activity

  1. I concur.
    One of the most refreshing experiences for quite some time. Loved the dynamic between the man and woman.

  2. I’m very excited to see this flick (though as usual I’ll wait till it comes out on DVD).

    I remember seeing Carrie at the drive in when it came out. The scene at the end with the hand coming out of the grave … I don’t think I’ve screamed that hard at a movie since.

  3. Yes, that’s the moment. And with Jaws, the part where that man’s head pops out of the submerged boat. It’s that element of the unexpected which works quite effectively and which, to me, only Hitchcock could pull off successfully after a good buildup.

Comments are closed.