My Thoughts on the Death Penalty

NHCADP Protest – World Day Against the Death Penalty

My philosophy of late has been to err on the side of compassion. I would hate to be responsible for someone's death if they were innocent. I absolutely abhor the idea of executing anyone under the age of 30. Some have not even reached the age of reason then. Others never will, as in the case of the mentally incapacitated. While I don't believe some murderers, once they've gotten a taste of murder, or some pedophiles, who are repeat offenders, can be rehabilitated, I do believe that society should be protected from these predators somehow. However, killing them isn't one of the options as long as innocents fall through the cracks of the system. DNA evidence, to me, seems the only sure way to exonerate or convict anyone.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on the Death Penalty

  1. I agree with you. Society demeans itself if it starts liquidating people. However, this is a tough call, and it’s a real temptation to get rid of some of these deranged bastards who are maintained, very expensively, at public expense, apparently beyond rehabilitation, or beyond even wishing to be rehabilitated.

    But, inconveniently, I think there is an imperative here. It amazes me how some avowed Christians can declare themselves in favour of the death penalty. Forgiveness and redemption are always possible but, magically this, for them, comes only from God, thus magically excusing humanity of an absolutely central principle of Christianity. I think Christ spends a great deal of his time telling us that our primary responsibility is to behave like him. He doesn’t say “do what you like down here, and leave the complicated questions to God”. Or, if he does, I wasn’t aware of that bit.

    lest this appears to have turned into an anti-Christian tirade, it’s more of a plea for consistency, or an anti-hypocrisy tirade if anything.
    We can’t declare the sanctity of human life as a core principle, and then start making arbitrary exclusions to suit our own prejudices.

  2. I agree. We can’t be so arbitrary about this. I’m still struggling with my idea of a “just war” so I understand the tendency to say this or that instance is different. But the inconsistency of valuing human “life” at conception and then discarding it for adults through the death penalty is the height of hypocrisy and makes it look as if birth of little future christians is more important.

Comments are closed.