Quote of the Day (even the Week!)

mountain_128
Image by iamthepinkcupcake via Flickr

“At the very least it would mean something about every day, to the best of my ability, resisting being a fake. Resisting the fake answer, the false front, the superficial conversation in favor of something more deeply human, more deeply connected to what really matters about being alive, whether it sounds religious or spiritual or correct or not. It means worrying less about being perfect and being concerned more with being authentic or real with other people. Much of the religion I was schooled in was about putting myself away, aside, behind me in order to become something holier and closer to God. In other words, to draw nearer to the Really Real I needed to be less me. Perhaps it was a mid-life revelation or just wearing out on that that led me to a different understanding that my humanity was God’s chief gift to me and that if I was going to find the Really Real it was going to be within that and not separating myself from that. It meant that the holiest thing I could be was the flawed human being God had made me to be.” (Barbara Brown Taylor)

2 thoughts on “Quote of the Day (even the Week!)

  1. Projecting ourselves as we really are strikes me as our only hope for a sense of integrity or self-belief. If there are things about ourselves we don’t like, we can seek to change them, but we have to start from the person – “The flawed human being” – we really are.

    Also, in our relationships with others, we cannot, in the long term, pretend to be someone else, or conceal bits. In the end, the truth will out, and the earlier the better if those we love are not to find that their beloved is a pretense.

    Thanks for this quote.

  2. Well, it’s easier said by Taylor than practiced. How long did she spend as an inauthentic to self pastor? I’m sure there are loads of pastors who act in the same way, doubting or even unbelieving and trying to be what everyone expects them to be. Many, many people do not want to see pastors with feet of clay, nor do many wish to see the real person behind the idealized version that they love. It’s easier to act the part expected of you than tussle with the ramifications of being who we really are in all it’s gritty reality. We are a culture of idealists. For example, letting our ultra conservative family know that we are progressive if not downright liberal? big mistake. arguments ensue. Letting our ultra christian families know that we are agnostic bordering on atheism? Ostracism. Exposing our feelings and thereby confirming to everyone that we are nutjobs? Doesn’t make for good work or familial relationships and probably makes for lots of head butting. I’m on the fence (as usual) about this one. I agree wholeheartedly about practicing authentic religion and spirituality before whatever deity we worship, but I’m not so sure about relationships. If we please others we sacrifice integrity. If we please ourselves we are accused of selfishness. It’s a no-win scenario for all except for the recluse and the hermit really.

Comments are closed.